Voter Registration and Elections

Town of South Hill wards mapTown Council elections are held on the first Tuesday in May of even numbered years.  The Mayor and members of Council serve four-year staggered terms.  The Town is divided into three voting wards as shown at right. 

The Mayor is elected at large.  Persons elected to Town Council take office on July 1 following the election. 

In order to vote, a person must be age 18 or older, a U.S. citizen, a resident of Virginia, and registered in the precinct where they reside.  Qualified citizens may register to vote at the Mecklenburg County Voter Registration Office located in Boydton, Virginia (434) 447-7636 or through the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) when applying for a motor vehicle driver's license.  South Hill has one polling place for Town Council elections: the American Legion Hall on 213 Brook Avenue, South Hill, VA  23970-2609. 

Further information can be obtained by visiting the Virginia State Board of Elections website or by contacting the General Registrar's Office Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m

County of Mecklenburg
Jason Corwin, General Registrar
439 Madison Street
P.O. Box 436
Boydton, VA  23917-0436
Phone:  (434) 738-6191 X-4313
Fax:  (434) 738-6104