Notice: The public is invited to view livestreamed regular monthly Council meetings on our YouTube Livestream page.
Regular monthly Council meetings will also be available for later viewing on our YouTube channel.

For the latest updates from the Governor, please visit [new]

  • 1

Town Council elections are held at the time of the November general election of even-numbered years.

Town of South Hill wards map

The Mayor and members of Council serve four-year staggered terms.  The Town is divided into three voting wards as shown at right. 

The Mayor is elected at large.  Persons elected to Town Council take office on January 1 following the election. 

In order to vote, a person must be age 18 or older, a U.S. citizen, a resident of Virginia, and registered in the precinct where they reside.  Qualified citizens may register to vote at the Mecklenburg County Voter Registration Office located in Boydton, Virginia (434) 447-7636 or through the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) when applying for a motor vehicle driver's license.  South Hill has two polling places for Town Council elections:

  • 401 – R.T. Arnold Library on 110 East Danville Street
  • 501 – American Legion Hall on 213 Brook Avenue

Further information can be obtained by visiting the Virginia State Board of Elections website or by contacting the General Registrar's Office Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m

County of Mecklenburg
Jason Corwin, General Registrar
316 Washington Street
P.O. Box 436
Boydton, VA  23917-0436
Phone:  (434) 738-6191 X-4313
Fax:  (434) 738-6104